Boozin’ on Vacation: Dragon Silk

Image

Dragon Silk

I recently went to Maui on vacation, and thanks to my food nerd friends, I had plenty of great restaurants to check out… but not one recommendation for a great place to have cocktails while there. On my last night in Maui, I ended up going to Star Noodle and ponying up to the bar on my own to check out the food and, possibly, find a cocktail worth writing about.

I had the pleasure of chatting with one of the bartenders, Zane. He was funny and engaging, and told me he could make me a bourbon cocktail that would knock my sand-encrusted sandals off. And guess what? It totally did. He was inspired by a friend’s trip to South America, where she enjoyed Pisco Sours almost daily–she was craving something similar, but with bourbon, and Zane created the cocktail he calls “Dragon Silk.”

Recipe*:

​2 oz Jack Daniels or any bourbon
0.5 oz Aperol
1 Egg white
0.75 oz Fresh Lime sour
Nigori Sake

Directions:

In cocktail shaker filled with ice, combine egg white, bourbon, Aperol, and fresh lime sour. Cover, shake vigorously for 15 seconds, and strain into six-ounce cocktail glass. Top with Nigori sake, garnish with a slice of pear.

*Note: Measurements are approximate, as it’s a secret recipe. Try it out and let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Boozin’ on Vacation: Dragon Silk

Leave a Reply

